Why Read Paranormal Romance?

Yes, I admit it.  I am a complete paranormal romance junkie.  I love reading all types.  Werewolves, vampires, gypsies, gargoyles (Yes, even them!), and ghosts, Oh, My!!  I’m completely addicted.

What’s funny? I usually can’t stand most other romances.  Admittedly I did branch out a little this last year: Kristen Ashley, Belle Andre, Maya Banks.  However, I was always a fantasy reader before.  I read things like Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series or Kate Elliott’s Crown of Stars or Melanie Rawn’s Dragon Prince.  I loved all things fantasy.

To begin to understand why people like me like paranormal romance is you have to understand why we read.  Me?  I read to escape life.  I have way too much drama in my real life to want to read realistic stories about realistic dramas.  So I read fantasy.  Then I realized what I loved most in those stories was the love stories embedded within.  So, I picked up a paranormal romance.  I’m not even sure which author or book I picked.  Could have been Christine Feehan’s Dark series or Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen series or even JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series.  (All of which I adored, by the way.)

So my addiction began.  Part of my addiction stems from simply liking to read about love in a world that keeps my interest.  But a big part and my favorite series revolve around the idea of ‘forever love.’  All of us desire that, I think.  Hence the draw of vampires and anything immortal falling in love in a forever type way.  Or because they couldn’t control their reactions to the object of their desire.  Or even because it was fate.  We all like that.

In fact, I think we all adore that and wish for that in some way.  Hence… the fad of vampire romance and werewolves mating and all sorts of crazy combinations of love.

I honestly don’t think this trend will die out any time soon.  But something will overshadow it eventually, but it’ll still be there.  Just as Harry Potter fans are still there and Pokemon fans are running around and cop shows are still being made.  People will always love paranormal romance, even if another craze shows up.  Twilight didn’t invent the genre, it just put a spotlight on it.

Of course, I’m also in it for the steamy sex scenes!  ^_~

Lovies!

Leave a comment